Using AudioProcessorValueTreeState

(I’m very new to this so please pardon my ignorance)

I’m trying to follow along with this tutorial:

And I’m having trouble getting the Audio ProcessorValueTreeState to actually work. It seems like a few things he’s using have been deprecated, in particular:

ScopedPointer<AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment> filterCutoffValue;
ScopedPointer<AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment> filterResValue;

ScopedPointer<AudioProcessorValueTreeState::ComboBoxAttachment> filterMenuChoice;

So I can’t figure out how to declare the tree attachments.

It also looks like

createAndAddParameter()

Is going to be deprecated and google has not yielded an alternative that I can understand.

I also seem to be getting a ton of errors with the AudioProcessorValueTreeState header file itself even though I haven’t touched it.

My questions are twofold:

1. How do I fix my current issue?
  2. Can someone point me towards a video or something on using AudioProcessorValueTreeState so I can get a better handle on it?

The attachment classes are not deprecated, ScopedPointer is. Use std::unique_ptr instead.

The errors you’re seeing could be a number of things, you’ll have to be more specific. Which errors, on which platform?

The current way of creating parameters is passing a ParameterLayout to APVTS’ constructor. This usually involves having a free function that returns a ParameterLayout. The layout is filled with unique_ptrs containing each of your parameters, so your function may return a braced list with calls to std::make_unique:

juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::ParameterLayout createParameters()
{
    return { std::make_unique<juce::AudioParameterFloat> (/***/),
             std::make_unique<juce::AudioParameterChoice> (/***/),
             /* etc */ };
}

Alternatively, you could create a vector, add your parameters there, then return the begin/end iterators: