Vector graphics gui's and knob/slider design

Hi Juce peeps, 

After many hours of tearing my heair out with obscure Xcode issues and DSP complexities I have finally manages to get a working wavetable synth together in AU format with ADSR envelopes working, a filter and a couple of other goodies which I will continue to add to. 

Brilliant.......ah my gui looks like something out of a Fisher Price advert. 

Does anyone have any advice for some basic GUI design that I can follow as a newbie (any resources etc) ? 

Specifically I am looking to alter the appearance of my JUCE sliders/rotary knobs to start with. I think I am starting to get a relativley good idea of how the Look and Feel classes work and setting look and feel's for individual components. 

My real question though is in regards to knob states for a rotary slider component.

I would like to go down the Vector / SVG approach as I have some experience with Adobe Illustrator and the like and would prefer to draw up my own components for use in JUCE. Unforunatley coding these from scratch or using something like OPEN GL is simply beyond my abilities at the moment. 

I have considered using knobman etc but would really like to know if anyone can give me some advice on importing a Vector based component and how I might go about setting up the knob states as my AI designed knob is roated in the GUI  ? My current code for my rotary sliders uses the standard JUCE slider component and I would like to remain as true to this as possible with the exception of the actual asthetic.  

Is the only/best way to do this by using a film strip approach ? (similiar to the knob man approaches I have seen discussed in the forum) or can people suggest other methods they have used ? 

I would like to go for a 3D design with a bit of shadow etc but am open to suggestions. 

Many thanks.

Josh