Vst Time Code into MIDI Clock

I would like to write a simple plugin that converts VST timing information into MIDI Clock messages. I have little practical knowledge about writing timing accurate applications in VST environment, could anyone help me with some basic design for such a plugin.

I also would like to know if VST sends all the information needed for such a conversion.

The idea basicly is to allow Hosts that don’t send SYNC information, or send it badly to be able to sync other applications/hardware.

Good idea. I think there’s probably enough info in the VST stream to be able to pump out midi clock. Haven’t got time to help you design it though!

i’ll try to crak this one myslef, looks like antoher 72hour weekend with a lot of cofeee and cigarettes.

some basic concepts

• get time information from getCurrentPositionInfo() called within processBlock() (as in the example of the AudioPlugin)

• create a seperate thread (created in AufioFilterBase not the GUI) that opens a MIDI Output (selected first)

• call this thread to send a MIDI Clock message (24/quarter note, this is how VST timing is done also, form what i’ve been reading in VST docs)

that’s what i can think of for now, am not sure about the thread timing though ? will this be good enough ?

All sounds sensible. You could alternatively just pass the midi messages out of the filter as its output, and let the host worry about sending them to the device. That’d work in tracktion, though I don’t know if many other hosts could handle it.

that’s what i wanted to do but as an option (additional MIDI Out device on the list). Though hosts like FLStudio have weird MIDI implementations. I wanted to write (and still am, this plug will hopefully become this) a SysEx sending plugin to control old vintage hardware, but FLStduio discard all MIDI that’s longer than 3 bytes, and i think SysEx in VST has appeared after VST 2.2 (before that the structre for MIDI SYSEX was not documented).