Wav assets compiling along with the plugin

I’m relatively new to JUCE and C++ I was struggling for a little while loading in a file for use as a SamplerSound in a synth that I am creating until I realised I had to use an absolute path. This is a little bit of a pain as I can’t really predict where people will install my plugins and will have to change the path for every operating system I support.

So I was wondering if there was a way for me to load in all the wavs I will be using as assets and compile them into the plugin itself to bypass all of these issues?

1 Like

Of course - just add them to the file list in the projucer, and they’ll be embedded as binary literals in the BinaryData class.

2 Likes

Ah that’s great, thank you. So can that BinaryData be cast as a file and passed into the audio format manager ?

This is the code I have at the moment, I’,m just wondering how dramatically this will need to change and if so what it might need to change to:

File* file = new File(“path/to/file.wav”);

ScopedPointer reader = audioFormatManager.createReaderFor(*file);

The AudioFormatManager also takes an InputStream as well: AudioFormatManager::createReaderFor (InputStream* audioFileStream), and the memory can be turned into a MemoryInputStream.

IIRC:

MemoryInputStream* input = new MemoryInputStream (BinaryData::fille_wav, BinaryData::file_wav_size, false);
auto reader = audioFormatManager.createReaderFor (input);

HTH

EDIT: Fixed code after @jules reply…

1 Like

oh, careful there - createReaderFor takes ownership of the pointer you give it.

1 Like

Ah cool, I was wondering, but couldn’t figure out immediately…
(Reading it again now, it’s said in the docs… sorry)

1 Like

Thanks guys, works perfectly, exactly what I was trying to achieve!