Win32 programmer looking for Apple/Mac advice

I am a Win32 programmer and have never touched an Apple product nor code.
I have a plugin that I build under Windows and of course need it to also run-on Mac’s.

So, I need a Mac development machine:
– I understand I need to use Xcode.
– I have plenty of monitors so screen size is not an issue.
– The only thing I will use the Apple machine for is to build the plugin (and install) and perform some light testing within a DAW.

Question:
If one has an Intel based Mac can Xcode perform builds for both Intel and Apple Silicon targets?

I am not rich and cannot justify dropping $6000.00 on a new Mac Pro.
On the other hand, I am not looking for the cheapest solution.
I see lots and lots of refurbished iMac’s and such, but refurbs scare me, am I crazy?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

If one has an Intel based Mac can Xcode perform builds for both Intel and Apple Silicon targets?

Yes, but obviously you can’t test it but that could be said both ways, i.e with an Apple Silicon based Mac you can’t test Intel (well you could run it under Rosetta I guess).

I see lots and lots of refurbished iMac’s and such, but refurbs scare me, am I crazy?
I guess it depends where it’s from but honestly any reputable retailer doing this is probably fine, better still Apple do it themselves (https://www.apple.com/uk/shop/refurbished/mac). In my experience, generally speaking, Macs tend to going on working for quite some time. Just be conscious that you’ll probably want something where you can always test the latest OS which would sway me towards Apple Silicon as intel will be completely phased out at some point in the near future.