Cheapest Way to Create Mac Plugins?

I’m a 25-year C++ programmer, all on Unix/Linux and Windows. I’ve developed a plugin with Juce and want to supply the Windows-using community.

Does anyone cross-compile for Mac on Linux or Windows successfully?

Failing that, what’s the oldest/cheapest Max I could buy to let me build Juce-based plugins?

For instance I see “Macbook Pro 13” Early 2015, 128GB" (disk I assume!) for about $410 on a local auction site. Would that do the job? I assume I can get the compiler and some test DAW for free?

I have a 2009 Mac Mini that I used to do my mac builds on. It’s a PoS and completely horrible to use but it gets the job done - I had to install some extra RAM because it only had 2GB originally which was unusable. You may be limited to older versions of Xcode though (mine can’t be updated past Xcode 8) but other IDEs may work better.

If all you need it for is building, then you may be able to rent a VM machine running mac. I don’t know of any such services myself but I’m sure there are some. You may be limited to how much testing you can do with that however.

1 Like

Can you just ssh in and do things remotely with Putty? I hear it’s Mach/Unix, basically. Or do you have to learn how to drive the GUI?

I have never done this myself but I know a dev with multi platform audio that used a mac mini and wifi, triggered the build from Windows and voila.

This is possible, but I have no more info than this. :slight_smile:

You can definitely SSH to a mac, but I’m not sure if you can do the full remote desktop like you can with Windows?

I use TightVNC to remote control my Mac Mini. ie. a Windows desktop machine is my main platform, and when I need to build/test on the Mac I use TightVNC to remote desktop to it. It is a usable solution if you do not need a performant experience, as there is some lag at times. But, it has been a workable solution for the past 10 years.