XCode 2.1 debug/release management for juceLib.a

What’s the correct method to use either a debug or release build of the jucelibrary when you’re making debug/release builds. I thought I tried simply linking to the appropriate directory (build/Development or build/Deployment) without having the library actually included in the project. I recall this not working. Is there a way to do this?
Cheers

I’m still an XCode newb. (among other things)

I wish I had a better solution that the current one, but XCode seems determined to always use the same folder for intermediate files regardless of the build type, and linking an app to differently-named libraries depending on whether it’s a debug configuration also seems to be beyond it.

I’m no XCode expert though, so if anyone out there knows tricks to get around this stuff, I’d love to hear about it!

I’ll dink around and see if I can come up with anything when I have time. There is a path for libraries in the Target->GetInfo->Build pane, but not sure if that works or not.

The fact that the debug and release libraries are built in the same place with the same name is not very good (even very bad).

EDITED see my last post with the working solution

EDITED see my last post with a working solution

I know more every minute I guess :slight_smile:

Based on this: http://www.niallmoody.com/ndcplugs/xcodetutorial.htm

I think the simplest solution might be:

put …/…/bin in “Installation Directory” instead of “Installation Build Products Location” (this was a mistake since it is used for install builds, whatever that is…)

In Development put “juced” as the "Product Name"
In Deployment put “juce” as the “Product Name”

EDIT also need to put the relevant macros for each conifugration (i.e. DEBUG/_DEBUG) in the Preprocessor Macros

I tested it and it works although it still build the libraries under build/bin and put an alias under bin but I leave that for you since my project will work with the alias anyway