Anyone making surround plugins? Asking for tips

Hi all,

First: I have the impression that the forum is getting more and more active and I want to congratulate Jules and thank him for what he is sharing with us!

A pity that we don't have FaceBook likes here ;-)

I am working on a few plugins and now really getting up to speed with C++ (my OO knowledge had become a bit rusty after 20+ years), Juce and all the required literature on filters and reverbs.

My question: my main plugin is a True Stereo convolution tool for positioning orchestral sample instruments on recording "stages", that I capture in high resolution using sine sweeps with the studio's microphone setups and quite some post-pro.

I also want to start with a surround version, because I have access to a lot of sweep recordings meant for surround applications with the now dead (read: killed) GigaStudio platform and its multichannel convo engine.

(jeez, get to the point Peter!)

I have no experience yet with surround routing in Daws, should I focus on 5.0 (5.1. is the limit in Cubase for instance), or also support 4.0 and even 7.0? I am clueless about this... (I think the .1 channel is not interesting for my audience).

When I capture the acoustics at orchestral stages and other venues, I include the surround mics and also record "behind" the conductor, so I have enough material for surround.

If you have worked on surround plugins, have you limited your plugin to routing like {2,4} and {2,5}?

Or should I focus on 5.0 internally for the convo engine and add panning options to also support 7.0?

I hope someone can share some tips, thanks in advance!

Peter

PS: here is a demo of what my plugin and my impulse responses from the Teldex Berlin studio can do with completely dry (anechoic) recordings (no further processing, no EQ applied):

https://soundcloud.com/peter-emanuel-roos/samplicity-teldex-ir-reverb

Hi Peter!