Anyone used a fancy game engine inside a Juce app?

There are some posts on here that ask about using Juce functionality (mainly audio) inside games built with Unreal or Unity… but I am wondering about the opposite. I have a lot of experience with Juce, and I use it as the primary way to build my apps from scratch. For a new app I’m working on, I want there to be a separate 3D window that has some nice real-time rendering. I don’t have any experience working with Unreal or Unity but I was wondering if it’s even possible to use them “just” as the rendering engine, but use Juce for the bulk of the app (mainly a very complex 2D UI with several windows).

To say it another way, I want to link to Unreal or Unity from my Juce app, as opposed to linking to Juce from my Unreal or Unity app.

Anyone have any experience with this or could point me in a useful direction?

Not trivial at all, considering the multi-platform nature.

I think last year Unity released something that allowed an Android app to run a Unity session/surface on top of the native activity.

So that means what you are asking might actually be possible with Unity using that Android render surface technique, I just cannot remember where or how exactly.

The bindings would matter, might be specifically Android for that project.

As far as Unreal, I don’t have much experience trying to get Unreal on anything but it’s own exporter. Sure there has to be a way getting their renderer API to talk to some layer in JUCE you would render to.

Bottom line is, what you are asking is a large rabbit hole full of barbed wire. :wink:

Maybe using a lightweight native browser library and draw with webgl and 3D js libraries if you are going a wild route. :slight_smile: 3D is just a lot to lug around, even in JS you have to setup for the rendering somewhere either a framework or your own webgl code.

On a different note, there is the project;