Audio Visualiser?

I’m planning on creating a kind of visualiser plugin. I am very new to Juce and C++ in general. Would it be possible to create a plugin which outputs a live scrolling visualisation of sound coming through all channels for example in Ableton? Similar to an export at the end of creating a track, just without exporting, so the user can see the finished product before exporting?

A plugin has only access to the audio routed through it, i.e. the channels of that one track.
But you can of course visualise that audio of the track.

Which could be the master track, so I think it’s possible to do what the original poster is asking about.

Well, that needs clarification… The master contains the sum, I understood the question rather to see the individual channels of each track…

So it’s still correct, you have only access to the channels of that track, even if it’s the master track… :wink:

Yes, I mean as in a plugin to be placed on the master channel specifically

Oh right I understand. I mean the combination of all the tracks combined into what would be the exported copy

You can visualise it in ableton with a spectral analyser, but not as an output waveform

Would it be possible to do with the AudioVisualiserComponent? I’ve had a look at it, and it says it shows a scrolling waveform of data, but the tutorial shows simply a copy of the whole waveform, not scrolling

AudioVisualiserComponent is the correct thing to use. It does scroll. What tutorial are you looking at?

Wait sorry I’m looking at AudioThumbnail oops

How exactly does it work? It seems simple enough to get a start on

Visualiser not thumbnail :slight_smile: