Bass Treble Mid Equaliser

Hi,

I have and audio program built in juce that loads and plays songs, I can increase or decrease the volume on the tracks using a slider.

I have searched the tutorials on here and checked out the demo’s on the projucer but i cant find anyting that explains how i would control the base, treble and mid using sliders.

I am very new to juce and have followed some of the examples to build a simple player that loads, plays and controls the volume but i have no idea where i would start to do the base, treble and mid. Any help is much appreciated.

This is typically done with IIR filters. JUCE has two IIR filter implementations, the one in the dsp module is the newer one. A Bass Middle Treble EQ is basically a chain of three IIR instances. To make a filter actually do something to the frequencies in the audio signal you need to apply filter coefficients that can be computed by filter design helper functions. A suitable choice for your application would be a low shelf for bass, a bell filter for mid and s high shelf for treble. Your controls will set the gain for the filter design, the other parameters should be constants.

This was a very broad overview, you might want to do some further research on filters on your own :slightly_smiling_face:

Thank you Very Much @PluginPenguin. This has been helpful. I now know where I need to start looking at.