[Book] Will Pirkle - Designing Audio Effect Plug-Ins in C++ (2nd edition)

The 2nd edition of this book is out
https://books.google.com.ec/books?id=rVKWDwAAQBAJ&dq=Will+Pirkle+-+Designing+Audio+Effect+Plug-Ins+in+C%2B%2B+2nd&source=gbs_navlinks_s

Did someone around here buy and read it? Thoughts?

Best,
Paulo

I picked up a copy. Disclaimer: I’m a former student of his and took his plugin/synth design courses with the first editions, many many moons ago.

The book layout is straightforward, the first chunk is implementation details on the AU, VST3, and AAX plugin APIs, while the second chunk is a walk through of basic DSP theory and algorithms, with some cool additions not available in the first edition. I really like it as a quick reference and have bookmarked several algorithms to use in real projects (in particular his approach for dealing to frequency warping).

The code quality for the DSP is much better, but it may be a little opaque to some folks more familiar/comfortable with OOP. What he does is handle state/parameters by indexing into coefficient and state arrays in a DSP structure using hard coded indices, as opposed to doing raw field access.

If you’re not very familiar with DSP, it’s an excellent way to get your feet wet.

The new plugin wrapping code is on github too.

I’m about halfway through, and my own disclaimer – Will and I were in school at the same time, but traveled in different circles.

This book is a big upgrade from the first edition, largely in terms of structure and depth, presumably based on a few years of him using that edition as a textbook.