Can't even get HelloWorld application to launch

Hello fellow Jucers,

I’m a total noob here… I’m a professional web dev/music & audio enthusiast who thought he’d give developing a few VST plugins a shot. Seems like a lot of fun…

Unfortunately after an entire day of fiddling, I can’t seem to get even the “HelloWorld” example project to launch on my machine. (Windows 7.) … It’s quite frustrating!

The build seems to be successful in projucer, but upon attempted “Launch Application” I receive the following error:

“The program can’t start because api-ms-win-core-winrt-string-l1-1-0.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.”

Naturally I searched the error on google, and it seems that is part of Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015…

I’m using Visual Studio Community 15… and when I try to download/reinstall from here https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145 it tells me I’ve already got it installed. ;(

ANY help would be greatly appreciated. I’m wanting to dive in and try to play with / reverse engineer some of the examples! But this is seriously holding me up!.

Thanks in advance.
Alex

Can you get a basic non-JUCE Visual C++ program to compile and run at all?

Have you actually got the api*dll file?

I was just able to create a basic windows 32 desktop application project, using Visual C++, and it compiles and runs no problem.

Can you be more clear on the api*dll? How would I verify whether or not I have it? Thanks.

Did you try a clean install of VS 2015? (i.e. Just remove everything and download + install)

I’m working on doing this now… The community edition of Visual Studio 2015 should be fine, ya?

Thanks so much guys, I’ll report back after reinstall.

No luck… I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Visual Studio, the .NET framework, the win developers SDK, to no avail…

Even tried seeing if my windows user was corrupt as I read that maybe a possibility… but nothing. Ugh.