Compile windows VST from XCode

Hi,

I’m trying to combine JUCE with Cocotron to make a windows x64 vst and an iphone app – from the same codebase apart from the GUI and interface.

Is it possible to compile the X64 (or x86 if need be) library from a Mac on x-code? I am trying to keep most of the code obj-c as iOS is the main target but the win vst is also indispensable.

Any thoughts on this approach would be greatly appreciated.

Not in this universe, I’m afraid!

Interesting.

I’m very new to all of this. I know that is what Cocotron is doing to make the windows dll’s from XCode, but I can’t figure out what else is able to follow suit.

How might you approach the problem instead?

Well, you have to have a PC anyway, to test your product… so compile it with that!

I’m sure there are ways you could somehow cobble together some kind of mingw-based solution that might run on OSX, but I wouldn’t trust it, and it’d be impossible to debug with.

Well, it may be possible. Xcode can use GCC, and it supports cross-compilation.

It’s not usual though - probably more trouble than it’s worth. You’d need to get a whole set of Mac-friendly windows headers and lots of other awfulness.

Easy to run a virtual machine and some windows tools for an occasional compilation.

Bruce

I use Windows 7 x64 as my main machine so that’s not an issue. The x64 vst is so that I can do my composing work on my computer till I can get totally moved over to iOS over the next year of two.

I’m looking to use Cocotron, which is only available running on XCode, so that I have access to CoreData. I think their process does use GCC

So far the most difficult part of getting the project going is finding a good ORM for a SQLite database that is central to the app. I have not been able to find anything really decent for C++. Because my main concern is iOS I figure I can leverage the optimazations of Core Data there as long as the Windows vst version is able to get by.