Xcode confusion

I’m new to XCode and confused - hoping somebody here will help me out with the project settings.

I need to port my juce application (the PILS programming language interpreter with Juce bindings) to mac.

I got a an intel dual core mini mac with XCode 3.1 (from the IPhone sdk). I checked out the Juce trunk and compiled it in debug and release mode, no sweat, the supplied project files just worked.

But I can’t find out how to set up my own project.

The tutorials I’ve found seem to concentrate on creating new projects, I haven’t found much info on how to port existing code.

On MSW, my system is a solution consisting of 3 projects: 2 static libs (the PILS interpreter kernel and a utility lib, both independent of Juce) and the exe file project which extends C++ classes defined in the interpreter kernel with wrappers for all kinds of Juce objects, and implements certain framework-dependent methods declared in the interpreter kernel, and initialises a lot of global static objects.

It runs on Linux too so the code is GCC compatible. (I used CodeBlocks for the setup, this is simular to Visual Studio and wasn’t a problem.)

My SVN trunk is organised much the same way as the Juce svn: project files are in trunk/build/platform, binaries in trunk/bin/platform, and sources in trunk/src/subproject

:?: Should I create the two juce-independent libraries as BSD static libraries? Will these be link-compatible with the main Juce app (which I understand is a Cocoa app)? Can the Juce app extend classes defined in the BSD libraries, and implement missing methods, using Cocoa? (I mean not only virtual methods, but also certain nonvirtual methods declared and used but left unimplemented in the static libs.)