"Create a basic Audio/MIDI plugin Part 2" Tutorial VST don't work

Hi, I’m new to Juce and C++, and I’m following the tutorials on Juce Web Site.
At the moment I’m trying the “Create a basic Audio/MIDI plugin Part 2” tutorial (on OS X) and the released vst don’t work… The Juce project settings are correct (I assume):
build vst true
plugin wants midi input true
plugin produces midi output true
All the rest apart the name are default.

The midi signal doesn’t arrive to the processBlock(), I think, because I’ve tried to change the text in the ::paint() with the noteOnVel value… and nothing happens…

Do someone have the same problem?

(OSX 10.11.6 and xCode 8.0)

Regards,

Francesco

Well the first thing I would suggest is to compile JuceDemoPlugin in examples/audio plugin demo and make sure you can read midi information there.

A few more questions that might help us track down the problem:

• How are you updating your GUI?
  • Which host are you using to test?

If you start your host using the debugger (in Xcode go to “Edit scheme” -> “run” -> “executable”) then you can use the DBG macro to print information to the Xcode console:

MidiBuffer::Iterator i (midiMessages);
MidiMessage message;
int time;
while (i.getNextEvent (message, time))
    DBG (message.getFloatVelocity());

So, I opened the example and it sounds well (apart for the fact that is a plugin and not a synth).
But i noticed that the code is more different from the code of the tutorial…
I can’t understand the question about updating GUI…and i use Cubase 8 Elements as host.
I’ve tried also to replace the code in ::processBlock() with the code you gave me, and i receive in Xcode the error “No matching constructor for initialization of ‘MidiBuffer::Iterator’”…
How can I use the macro?

Sorry, my example had a misleading variable name. I’ve now edited my previous post changing buffer to midiMessages to make it more clear. The constructor of MidiBuffer::Iterator requires a MidiBuffer.