Disaster recovery and long term development strategy

Hi guys,
yesterday one of my worst nightmares came true when my main Mac’s SSD drive suddenly died. Lucky for me, I have a backup plus a very recent git snapshot of my sources, so I only lost a couple of days of work.

Problem is… I have to make a choice between a better Mac or switching to Windows as main development computer. I used to be an IT Manager in my previous life, so I’m experienced with both Windows, Mac and Linux. Personally, I use Mac since the first big all white iMacs and always used them for my audio work and, lately, for development. I love XCode and how quick is to debug and profile the code in there while, so far, I found Visual Studio frustrating to use. If I have to get another Mac, it’ll be a 2012 Mac Pro since the new one are basically luxury furniture and if anything goes wrong I can’t simply replace a bank of RAM or a faulty disk drive. It’ll be an already 5 years old machine equipped with a fairly old technology… USB 2.0 and so on.

Switching to Windows is something I’m thinking about. Windows 10 Pro looks stable enough, although thinking about taking care once again of drivers, latency and all those quirks makes my spine chill in a very bad way.

At the moment, I usually develop on Mac first and when the product is on RC state, I switch on Windows to complete it. I’m sure there is a better way to handle that and create a better development strategy and a far better disaster recovery plan.

I would like to know your experience working with either Mac or Windows for development… this will help me understand if I’m missing something and take the best decision to work keeping me focused on coding rather than technical issues.

Thank you very much guys!
Luca

Glad it was not too much of a disaster for you.

My 2 cents: Macs can easily run Windows. Not so easy the other way round…

…and thanks for the reminder, haven’t done a backup in a while, hard disk grabbed, backing up now!!!