Efficiently draw a 3d Plot from realtime data

Hi,

I’m currently implementing an RF direction of arrival estimation algorithm, which is fed by a stream of realtime RF samples that get accumulated in a special way until there is enough data to compute a so called MUSIC spectrum (MUSIC is just the name of the algorithm and has nothing to do with music :smile:) based on some linear algebra, performed with the help of the Eigen linear algebra C++ library.
The resulting spectrum is output as a 90x360 Eigen::Matrix and should be displayed like this MATLAB-Plot:

MUSIC_Spec

The matrix will be updated between one to four times per second, depending of the number of samples to accumulate, which should be a user settable value. As I’m no expert in GUI and even less in 3D graphics, I’d like to get some input on how to generate a plot like this in general and how to do it efficiently with respect to the given update rates and the fact, that the algorithm and realtime computation of the samples coming in at 200 kHz shouldn’t be interrupted by to heavy graphic-rendering.

Will openGL help me here?

How would you do this kind of 3d scatter plot with mouse picking in JUCE?

Hi Jucers,

After not getting any response to this thread I focused on other tasks, but as our application develops successfully I‘m now comming back to this topic.

The context of this application is a scientific student project where me and my colleague both are students of elecrical engineering with decent knowledge in math and DSP but not in things like GUI - we‘re just doing our best trying to learn what‘s needed to develop our application. That said, learning how to program a juce-compatible open GL 3D Plot Component would surely be interesting but also very very hard and time consuming for us as we start with zero knowledge for a little side-task in that project.