Headless plugin clients

Hi all,
I’m working on an embedded Linux project where a headless system can host VsT plugins.

The host doesn’t use JUCE, but we had to support a plugin written with it. At the moment, it’s possible to build headless standalone Linux apps in JUCE, but X11 & friends are still a dependency for audio plugin clients.

I experimented a little and it turned out that hacking the codebase to remove that dependency was much easier than I thought. Disclaimer: I’m not a JUCE expert at all, so any feedback is welcome!

You can try it out here:
https://github.com/stez-mind/JUCE/tree/mind/headless_plugin_client

This is still WIP, tested with few plugins and, especially, not integrated with the Projucer. You need to define JUCE_HEADLESS_PLUGIN_CLIENT=1 to activate the option.

Basically, I just mocked up the relevant methods in juce_gui_basics/native/, so this is similar to having a separate architecture target. From the plugin POV, it should be equivalent to the situation where the host never shows your UI, so you can instantiate graphic components etc.

Cheers,
Stefano

5 Likes

Hello JUCErs,
I’m reviving this thread to signal that I have updated my fork for headless audio plugins under Linux to the latest 5.4.1 release:

There seems to be an issue with recent versions of JUCE when exporting Legacy VST plugins, for which I’ll submit an issue on Github (the SDK header path is not included properly in the generated Makefile). Quick workaround at the moment is to modify the generated Makefiles in the JUCE_CPP_FLAGS variable, either manually or with e.g. a sed script.

The main purpose of this is currently to generate plugins for the ELK Music OS, but there is nothing specific to ELK in this fork and it could also be used in other contexts. Currently, we have several developers that are using this fork with success, even for complex plugins (modular FX units, physical modeling synthesizers, etc.).