How to get started: Making a GUI app with Projucer

Hi. I’m new to this but the tutorials are not very helpful.

I launched the Projucer and created a project that I want to work on Mac and Windows. I chose GUI app.

So, I have something that I can compile and launch and it creates a window. How do I edit this window and add controls and such to it? There’s a graphical way to do that, right?

I found another topic on this and tried what it said - adding a new GUI component. That let me get to some editor for that particular component but it has nothing to do with the window and I never see it.

I’m sure this is easy once you know how but there should really be an intro tutorial on creating a simple GUI app.

The tutorials are pretty good, I think.

In-case these are not what you found, you can find them here - https://juce.com/learn/tutorials

Probably the easiest one to start with is
https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_new_projucer_project.html

Then https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_manage_projucer_project.html

Then https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_create_projucer_basic_plugin.html

Then https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_code_basic_plugin.html

Good luck!

Yes, I’ve looked at those. Two of them are about plugins, which are not what I am trying to accomplish. One is about managing projects, which I believe I already understand.

The last one doesn’t show me how to create a GUI app. None of those talk about the GUI editor.

There is something called “GUI Editor” in Projucer but I don’t see anything about that in the tutorials. For someone trying to make a GUI app, I would think that is the most important step - how to use the editor.

1 Like

The GUI editor is more or less deprecated and won’t be developed any further (afaik). You will have way more freedom and possibilities of placing your components when you do it by hand (by code, quite similar as the plug-in tutorials show you).

1 Like