How to use the method drawChannel()?

Hi everyone,

I’m a beginner in C++ programming and I’m trying to create a small application able to analyze an audio file such as a .wav or a .mp3, and draw the relative waveform on a PNG file. I’m working with linux on eclipse C++ .

What I’m trying to do is to use the AudioThumbnail class:

AudioThumbnail (const int sourceSamplesPerThumbnailSample, AudioFormatManager &formatManagerToUse, AudioThumbnailCache &cacheToUse) Creates an audio thumbnail.

From that class i wanna use the functionality to draw the channels:

drawChannel (Graphics &g, int x, int y, int w, int h, double startTimeSeconds, double endTimeSeconds, int channelNum, const float verticalZoomFactor) Renders the waveform shape for a channel

there i start to get a little bit in troubles because I don’t understand the documentation very good, it’s everything clear more or less but the first parameter I need is a Graphic objet, isn’t it?
The I find that:

1. So there I need to create an Image object: but the problem is that I don’t find the way to declare the first parameter of it…

Image (const PixelFormat format, const int imageWidth, const int imageHeight, const bool clearImage) Creates an in-memory image with a specified size and format.

I tried with something like “PixelFormatRGB”, “juce::PixelRGB”, “PixelformatRGB 3”…I tried everyway but from compiling this always goes to an error, telling me that the first parameter is wrongly declared.

1. What imageToDraw stands for?? is it a string for the output filename? or something else?

Does someone know how to do it correclty? or anyway tell me a nice source to learn about how to use this library?

Thanks.

Giovanni.

Look here what a Image class is: http://www.rawmaterialsoftware.com/api/classImage.html

If the method says Image then it’s not a String !!

Typicall you create an image, then a graphics to draw on it and you are done:

Image img (Image::ARGB, 800, 600, false);
Graphics g(img);