I need help with the Reverb Class

I’m new to creating Audio Plugins and I need help setting up a Reverb. I looked up the dsp::Reverb class documentation but it doesn’t include details of how to implement it or what the parameters are? Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Not an expert here, but as far as I can tell the dsp::Reverb is just a wrapper around an older class - Reverb, to make it easy to include inside a dsp-processor-chain.

Looking at the documentation of the juce Reverb class you can find a reference to the Reverb::parameter struct

There are all parameters listed you can set.

So you create an instance of a Reverb::parameter struct, set its values and pass it to your reverb

maybe that helps!

best regards

Reverb theReverb;
Reverb::Parameters theReverbParameters;

//initiate once in your setup
theReverb.setSampleRate(44100); // improve: ofcourse use the real samplerate here!
theReverbParameters.dryLevel = 0.2;
theReverbParameters.wetLevel = 1.0;
theReverbParameters.roomSize = 1.0; // 0 small to 1 big
theReverbParameters.damping = 0.1; // 0…1 1=damped
theReverb.setParameters(theReverbParameters);

// now you can process float arrays l & r thus:
theReverb.processStereo(l, r, numSamples);

Hello. A newbie here. I have the same problem. As I understand dsp::Reverb class is a wrapper for juce::Reverb class, created in order to use juce::Reverb in ProcessorChain. Should I somehow put juce::Reverb into dsp::Reverb or are they already connected?

Kind regards

If you are using juce 6 you would have to put juce:: in front of Reverb and Reverb::Parameters.

Just so no “newbie” gets confused :wink:

juce::Reverb theReverb;
juce::Reverb::Parameters theReverbParameters;

You don’t need to create a Reverb on your own. Creating a dsp::Reverb contains a Reverb object!
So just create a dsp::Reverb and work with it in your dsp Chain (or however you want to use it)

1 Like