Juce 3.2 AudioProcessorParameter, and deprecated methods

I am new to juce, and few weeks ago I'm testing it, surely I'll buy a license for my new products. I have written some own classes for params and others stuf...

Today I updated to Juce 3.2, and I noticed that PluginProcessor::setParameter, getParameter, getNumParameters, etc, will be deprecated.
I would like to use my own ParamManager class in the future, this class has an array of params, handle normalized and human readable values, enum params, etc... 

So my question is:  PluginProcessor::methods_for_params will be removed in future versions? alternative methods will be added?

Thanks.

The old methods will probably be removed eventually, but there's no need for any more alternative methods - the new AudioProcessorParameter class gives you all the functionality that the old methods provided, and more too.

You might just be able to make your own parameter objects inherit from (or contain an) AudioProcessorParameter.

Thanks Jules,

I've created clases for float, enum, bool and int params... I like this way :)

If I may intervene, each one of us is ending up having his our own implementation of the parameter classes… this might, at some point, make things difficult to change, either from the JUCE users we are (upstream code changes breaking things), or from the JUCE maintainers (fear of breaking user code).

To the JUCE maintainers: what about sharing the same parameter implementation at the JUCE level? e.g. optional parameter classes?

Best,

We've got a bunch of new almost-finished utility classes for plugin parameter handling.. Not sure if they'll be released before V4 or not, but won't be too long.

This will include stuff like a ValueTree-based parameter list and some typed parameters with ranges, skews, etc.

@fbecker, it would be great, but as an optional usage. Some other frameworks do all the work, and when you need to do someting specific thing is a mess... for this reason I am moving to juce.