JUCE Binary Files Exaplanation

Hallo

A JUCE newbie here, trying to create my first audio plugin. So i have a very simple version of my plugin and i want to test in a host how it works.

I get three binary files with extensions (.vst3, .vst and .component), when i build my project. How can i add this to a VST host? lets say for example MAX MSP.

On Mac there is a folder for that, you find it under /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST, and the same in your home as well, ~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST. Place your plugin in one of them. Usually the projucer is set to put the binary there automatically, but it could end up somewhere else.
AudioUnits (AU) are referred to as Components.

Some hosts scan all plugins on each start, but on some you will have to find the “Plug-In manager” and click Scan for plugins…

HTH

Hallo Daniel

Thanks for the reply. Yes i created a separate folder location to save the binary files. I have three binary files as i mentioned before. Can i load them in a windows based vst host? As far as i have seen windows based vst has a extension of .dll and the files generated by JUCE on a mac has an extension .vst or .vst3

In case of mac, which software can i use to load and test my vst or au plugin?

You cannot run plugins on windows, that were compiled for OSX. There exists a process called cross-compiling, which means you compile for a different platform other than the one you run the compiler on. But that is complicated and neither XCode nor Visual Studio support that out of the box afaik.

The route to go is to copy your juce project to a windows box and have the projucer to create a visualStudio project and compile it in VisualStudio (the community edition is free, you can use different IDEs as well, but that usually leads to more fiddling).

To test your plugin, there is

• juce plugin host: find it in the examples of projucer, pro is that is very small and you can debug into the host as well (hosts AU components, VST and VST3)