Juce sin(float) to math.h sin(double)

Hello,
I am quite new in C++ so I am not sure how to do that. But there is in Juce sinus function, and according to Juce documentation it takes and return only float values:
sin(float value);

But I want to use double and its precision.

As I know in <math.h> library there is also sinus function that takes and return double values, and have exactly the same syntax:
sin(double value);

But in Juce there is automatically included library with sin(float), so if I just:
#include <math.h>

Then I am not sure which sinus my code will use. But I want to be sure that all values (argument of sinus and its return) will be with double precision. How to do that?

I know that we can use standard library like that: std::function... but I am not sure how to use math.h library. I tried math.h::sin(double value) but it doesn’t work.

Of course I know I can use double values in Juce sin function. But I am afraid the returned values will be float.

Your problem is that JUCE client code is all automatically in the juce::
namespace, and math.h's functions, being C functions, have no concept of name spacing - to C++, it’s all in the global namespace (along with any definitions made by JUCE).

To be honest, I’m not sure where JUCE would be defining a sine function, I feel like if it is it’s probably just a typedef or an inline pass-through - but that’s neither here nor there, since you can (and should) use std:: namespace functions to be absolutely sure. std::sin(double val) will always return a double, std::sinf(float val) will always return a float. Use those, they’re in <cmath>.

http://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/numeric/math/sin

1 Like

Thanks for reply

…I’m struggling to understand which “juce sin” function you’re talking about, because AFAIK we’ve never had one like you’re describing!

Do you mean juce::dsp::FastMathApproximations::sin ??

Hello, thanks for reply,