Learn to develop audio applications

Probably I'm OT on this forum, but I try anyway.

I'm studying C++ for about a year now, but I feel I'm still very far from achieving the goal of developing audio applications, and that's frustrating.
What should I do now? What books should I study? 
Someone recommended me this book "The Audio Programming Book". Do you think is it the right book?

Please, could you share your learning path with a novice?

Thank you.

When I started with audio a long time ago, I played around with DirectSound, creating an application that can load a wave file and play it back. Since I was working with 3D audio at the time and audio in games, I set up an application that could play back sounds, position them in 3D space, pan them, pitch them etc.

If you want to use JUCE for audio perhaps start with something similar? Look at the JUCE demo and see what it does for audio? You could take a look at the sample browser I created (it's on GitHub) and can play back sounds. Maybe add features like pitching, panning etc?

Of course it depends where you want to go with this? Into creating VSTi?

If you're somewhat confident in C++, why not just go ahead and create a small audio plugin? Think of an idea, and then create it. Even though it's great to be a skilled programmer before starting projects, it's my experience you also need apply your knowledge before it becomes meaningless just to code.

I had some previous years of experience coding before i started creating audio plugins, but i quickly became frustrated spending over 95% of my time managing sources, projects, compilations, gui etc. etc., and only 5% actually writing DSP - this was pretty demoralizing for me.