Newb - how do I get the "Hz frequency" of incoming samples?

I’m new to DSP and wondering how do I calculate the frequency in Hz of incoming samples?
Can I get the Hz of an individual sample, or do I have to look at a range of samples?

edit: I want my plugin to only act on only certain frequencies. E.g. only add distortion to samples in the mid frequency range.

One sample on its own means nothing. You need to look at a range of samples. The basic gist of pitch detection is that you find approximately how many samples are between cycles – ie, how long it takes for the signal to start repeating itself. This is called the period, and from this you can get the frequency.

1 Like

This could be solved with a band pass. You split the frequency bands and treat only the desirred filtered signal with your distortion and mix it back together at the end.

1 Like

Is there a formula to find out how many samples are in a “period”? Is it the sample at the “lowest” point that is the start of the period?

It is basically the wavelength.
1 Hz = 1 period per second
sampleRate: samples per second
therefore:

sampleRate / frequency 
= (samples / second) / (periods / second) 
= samples / periods

the sample rate can be seen as the speed of sound in our system
Example:
441 Hz at 44.1 kHz = 44100 / 441 = 100 samples per period (easier to compute than 440 Hz :wink: )

1 Like

There is. It’s quite a complicated formula – TLDR down below.

The core of the algorithm is the difference function, defined as:

$d_t(\tau)=\sum\limits_{j=t}^{j<N-\tau} (x_j-x_{j+\tau})^2$
$D(\tau)=\sum\limits_{t=0}^{t<N} d_t(\tau)$

where:
- $d_t(\tau)$ is the autocorrelation function at lag $\tau$ of input signal $x$ at sample $t$;
- $D(\tau)$ is the summation of all values $d_t(\tau)$ for each sample index $t$ in the current frame of audio of length $N$.