OpenGL Child Component with Transparent Background

Hi! I am very new to OpenGL but I need to draw some 3-dimensional looking lines so I’m learning. I have a child component that needs to draw some Axis ticks and some 3D junk over the parent. The problem is that I can’t seem to get the child to draw with a transparent background to just overlay it’s GL graphics on top of the parent’s graphics JUCE paint()-based graphics. With this code, I still get a black background on the child component

[code]void MyChildComponent::renderOpenGL(){
OpenGLHelpers::clear (Colour (Colours::black.withAlpha(0.0f)));
glEnable (GL_BLEND);
glBlendFunc (GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);

OpenGLHelpers::prepareFor2D (getContextWidth(), getContextHeight());
OpenGLHelpers::setPerspective (45.0, getContextWidth() / (double) getContextHeight(), 0.1, 100.0);
glTranslatef (0.0f, 0.0f, -3.0f);

//…draw a bunch of junk

glDisable(GL_BLEND);
}
[/code]
All I can think to do is set the Alpha of the “clear” colour in the first line of the renderer or try to find some OpenGL flag to allow for a transparent background. I am pretty new to all this so I hope I’m not overlooking something obvious. Thoughts oh-great-JUCE-community-of-geniusness?

3D over 2D? not tried that, but here’s some ideas:

stop the child 3D component drawing 2D (does by default), glctx.setComponentPaintingEnabled(false).

set child to be opaque setOpaque(true)' then definepaint’ to do nothing.

?

Thanks for the reply! I have tried stopping 2D rendering (context.setComponentPaintingEnabled(false)) and setting the child component to Opaque and neither made any difference. For reference, here’s a censored version of the GUI so you can see what I’m trying to do:

[attachment=0]GUI_public.png[/attachment]