Required JUCE C++ Knowledge

Hi. I’m at the stage where I’m soon going to be starting with JUCE, but just polishing my C++ before I do. What areas of C++do I need to know inside out? For example, ‘templates’ or ‘smart pointers’. I’m using a site called Codewars to hone my skills where they typically have keywords which indicate what the challenges cover. I’m new to programming though I’ve used C++ in my masters and have now been doing it daily for about 3 months.

Any advice or even recommendations what projects or challenges to take on would be great. Thanks

Welcome to the forum! I also started out on Codewars and graduated to using JUCE a little more than a year ago. It was tough going for me at first, but lots of fun, and a great chance to learn a new art form.

You’ll find tons of things that you need to know about C++ “before” you start using JUCE, but don’t let them stop you from using it right away! The important thing is to get yourself in a position where you can learn as you go. I think the best thing you can do is get friendly with the JUCE documentation–it might seem intimidating at first, but in fact it’s a gold mine. Also go through some of the tutorials, if you haven’t done so already, and feel free to post questions here, even if they’re beginner level.

To give a direct answer to your question, I would say that the one thing you need to know inside out is inheritance. Many JUCE classes are built to be inherited, and so you’ll need to know how to inherit, how to override virtual functions, etc. (Having said this, knowing when not to inherit is just as important as knowing when to inherit).