Running VST3 in FL Studio || Beginner

I started learning juce a few weeks ago and I’ve made a basic synth plugin that runs fine in juce’s audio plugin host. I am trying to run it in FL Studio, but their plugin manager/scanner can’t recognize the .vst3 file. The following link from FL Studio (near the bottom of the page) says that FL on Windows works with VST3 plugins only if they have a .dll file extension.
https://www.image-line.com/support/flstudio_online_manual/html/basics_externalplugins.htm
If I understand correctly, VST3 plugins always have a .vst3 extension, so this doesn’t make any sense.

How have other people been able to get their VST3 plugins to work in FL?

When built i dont get .dll in builds folder

Seems to be an error in their documentation. .vst3 files work fine for me. Make sure to put them in the right location. “Plugin search paths” are different for VST and VST3 and apparently you can’t add custom VST3 paths.

Hi @NoamBendelac,
When I tried my vst3 plugin in FL for first time I have also some problems. Unfortunately I do not remember exactly a scenario, but now everything works. I think I had two problems:

1. VST3 folder was not in “Plugin search paths”. The plugin was not on the list in plugin manager. Please check as @guten already mentioned.

2. My plugin crashed first scan :stuck_out_tongue: The plugin was red on the list and on “Plugin” tab (near “Options” tab) status was “failed” or something like this.
    To fix this I had to:

• change “Scan options” to “Rescan previously verified plugins”
  • attach a debuger
  • start scan again
  • then off course fix bug in plugin and one more time rescan plugins in FL

Then I marked my plugin as favourite (check a tick on the plugins list) to have it around in popup list in mixer.

Kindly regards,
Mateusz

Thank you @guten and @mateusz. I now got my plugin to load, thanks to: