Serial port communication support

Have there ever been any plans for JUCE to support serial port communications? (Obviously including via USB like what Arduino does.)

Until that time, you could use the JUCE Serial Port Library hosted here: http://omohmproductions.com/?page_id=145. I use it specifically to talk to Arduino’s.

5 Likes

Thanks, I’ll take a look at that!

I successfully used the asio (asynchronous I/O) library for that. Asio is part of boost but also available as lightweight header-only standalone version

1 Like

Hi,

Do you have an example as how you use this? I’m new to Juce and trying to understand how to implement this.

Any direction would be great.

Thanks

I just updated an older project of mine to work with the latest JUCE, and put it on github. I’ve also moved the serial port library to github as well… It’s an ‘example’ of how to use the library, but I can’t comment on the code quality… lol…

1 Like

Thank you.

In your cSerialPortListMonitor.cpp, line 39 you are referencing SerialPort::getSerialPortPaths()… however I can not see anywhere in the cSerialPortListMonitor.h file, importing “juce_serialport.h”?

How do you have access to the serialPort?

I have added the juce_serialport folder to the JUCE modules folder, thinking it would be included with “…/JuceLibraryCode/JuceHeader.h”

I have added the header and cpp file to Projucer, then launched it and included “juce_serialport.h” inside my file - states could not be found.

Or have I got it all wrong when adding / including external libraries?

If it’s a JUCE module the header should be included in JuceHeader.h and the source files will automatically be getting compiled for you, no need to add anything other than the the juce module to the Projucer.

Perhaps you didn’t add the module to your .jucer project?

What @Anthony_Nicholls and @richie said! :slight_smile: