Serial Port: connecting to Arduino

Hi. I’m totally new to JUCE and, while I am pretty fluent in C, I am also fairly new to C++ so please bear with me if I am being stupid!

I may have taken on a tough challenge for my first JUCE ‘learning’ project :thinking: but I am trying to write a ‘simple’ GUI to send and receive ASCII data via the USB Serial connection to an Arduino.

I have been using the Serial Port module originally written by graffiti and updated by Chris Roberts.

I have managed to get a list of serial ports on my PC (Win10), add them to a combo box to let me select the port that the Arduino is connected to and the Arduino reboots in the normal way when I select the port but I’m at a loss as to how to receive the data that the Arduino is sending. It starts with a simple ASCII string terminated by a newline to identify itself. I have set the input stream to notify when a newline is received.

I’ve tried adding a Listener but what is the Serial port object that is sending the message?

Is there a way for me to post the code here? I don’t see any ‘code’ tags :cry:

I’d be very grateful for any help or suggestions.

Phil.

1 Like

It‘s as simple as pasting it here and putting three backticks ``` in the line above and below it

Regarding the question, I don’t know that module but having a quick look at the example code (which is full of memory leaks by the way :see_no_evil:) it seems that you just need to read from the SerialPortInputStream instance created for a certain port once you are notified by the change broadcaster. The SerialPortInputStream seems to inherit juce::InputStream. But as I said this is my conclusion from looking at the code for two minutes, never actually worked with it

Thanks!

The MainComponent.cpp

#include "MainComponent.h"

//==============================================================================
MainComponent::MainComponent()
{
    setSize (600, 400);

addAndMakeVisible(textLabel);
    textLabel.setFont(textFont);