Skinning the Slider / Replacing knob and slider track with PNGs

I haven't found anything that covers how to replace the slider knob and slider track with your own PNG images, in a way clear to the beginner, after searching on the forum with keywords like "slider image", "slider png" and others.

I'm new to both JUCE and C++, so I'd need a bit of care taken to understand.

From what I gather so far, it looks like I'd need to load the PNG file for the slider knob and slider track in the PluginEditor.cpp -> Resources Tab.  Then, the image names are shown there and in the PluginEditor.h file.  Then, I'm guessing that whatever code needs to happen would be placed in the PluginEditor.cpp between the //[MiscUserDefs] comments.

I've seen posts about overwriting the lookandfeel() class, but I don't know how that is done, and would love to see an example of how the slider could be skinned that way.  I'm not sure if that approach with lookandfeel() would change all sliders, and I may not want every slider in a plugin design to necessarily look the same, although it is common in GUI designs for all sliders to be idenitical.

Skinning the knobs and track of a slider is such a routine thing... I'd imagine someone has worked out a quick and easy way to do this.

I'm also interested in skinning rotating knobs both with and without the knobman filmstrips, but I don't want to get into too much at once.  I'll be a happier person once I'm sucessfully skinning these sliders.

3 Likes

Did you see this one? http://www.juce.com/forum/topic/how-do-you-use-filmstrip-images-knobs

Or this one? http://www.juce.com/forum/topic/how-easily-use-png-knobman-my-code

Personally I prefer the vector approach to drawing knobs, that way I can resize to whatever I want. Though there's a few things I still can't get quite as nice I had them in KnobMan :)

Yeah, please don't be one of those "PNG skin" people - it's soooo 1990s. Vectors + clean, simple graphics are the way to go.