Studies to become audio programmer/hardware designer

Hi, I’m a first year french student at the polytechnical school of
Lausanne (EPFL) in Switzerland and I’m currently facing a dilemma. I’m
a huge fan of music with computer and especially of the software
(plugin) programming side of it, and I’m thinking of making it my job. I would love to construct hardware synths too.
So, when I choose my section in the school, I have directly taken
Physics, because this would allow me to learn a lot of Algebra,
Analysis , Physics, and C++, very valuable in DSP. But on the other
hand, I’m forced to study, mostly in Physics, subjects such as
cosmology, optic, thermodynamics wich has nothing to do with DSP wich
gives me the feeling that I made a mistake with my choice of section. So
my question is, do I have to consider changing section and go for
computer science, Electrical Engineering, or should I keep going on the same path
(Physics)? What is the typical way to become an audio programmer/hardware designer?

2 Likes

If it’s any help, some of the best programmers I’ve worked with had physics degrees… :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I studied electrical engineering and think this was a good choice. Of course – as with probably every choiche you could make – there are topics that are not that relevant to the audio segment, but comming to the studies with a musical and live sound engineering background I quickly started to find out when I was teached stuff that reminded me of things I already knew from working as an audio engineer.

While I started studies with the idea in mind to become an analogue audio hardware designer, I went more and more digital along the way. Important stuff that I learned was:

• Old school C programing basics
  • Learning to program weak microcontrollers in an efficient way
  • Learning rough basics about processor architecture by implementing simple soft core CPUs myself in FPGAs