Stuttering audio with ASIO, fine with DirectSound

I’m a beginner with Juce building my first project. It’s a VST audio effect that I’m testing inside Reaper on Windows 10.

Using my laptop’s built-in DirectSound device everything is working smoothly.

When I switch to an an ASIO device (Focusrite Scarlett) I get intermittently scrambled, stuttering audio when the VST is turned on, even if the audio is playing on another channel in Reaper. It makes no difference whether Reaper’s transport is playing or stopped, although when playing the playback position also “jitters” visually.

When I switch back to DirectSound, the problem is gone again.

This is a setup I’ve used for a long time without issues and I’m pretty familiar with it, so I’m certain the problem is being caused by my new VST.

Incidentally, it happens to do all of its processing one sample at a time, so I don’t have any buffers in my code (except the ones JUCE creates). The effect certainly sounds like the read pointer of a buffer is being bounced around, though.

I’ve tried tweaking buffer size on my ASIO device and the thread priority in Reaper to no effect.

Any ideas about things I could try?

A quick update. I tried the following:

• ASIO4ALL using the built-in audio interface (no Scarlett) – problem reproduced
  • Savihost running the VST with DirectSound – no problem
  • Savihost running ASIO – problem reproduced

I updated all my ASIO drivers.

At this point it looks like JUCE and ASIO are not playing nicely together but I’m very ready to accept this is probably a problem with my code.

If nobody has any ideas, tomorrow I’ll try to build a minimal example that reproduces the problem.

I had some time this evening to narrow this down to a region of my code that’s doing wet/dry blending. It’s the last thing I’d have thought would cause a problem, but the glitching completely vanishes when this code is commented out.