SVG Image Best Practices

I’m a beginner (at everything!) trying to use an SVG as a background image. I did it this first way before I started using the debugger. Now that I do, an exception is thrown for memory leaking when closing the window:

Drawable* background_image = Drawable::createFromImageData (BinaryData::bg_svg, BinaryData::bg_svgSize);
background_image->setBounds (getLocalBounds());
addAndMakeVisible (background_image);

Searching through the forums showed me I should be using ScopedPointers instead of regular pointers. This doesn’t throw an exception, but also doesn’t display:

ScopedPointer<Drawable> background_image (Drawable::createFromImageData (BinaryData::bg_svg, BinaryData::bg_svgSize));

This next one works, but the tooltip says, “Note that the preferred way to render a drawable in future is by using it as a component and adding it to a parent, so you might want to consider that before using this method.”, so I’m a bit wary to use it:

ScopedPointer<Drawable> background_image = Drawable::createFromImageData (BinaryData::bg_svg, BinaryData::bg_svgSize);
background_image->draw(g, 1.f, AffineTransform()); 

I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s a way to do this without pointers, and maybe is the right way that I just don’t know about. I’ve also used a PNG file in the same manner as the first method, so I hope that learning how to best do this will give me a clue on how to handle that problem as well. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

The suggested way is to make the scoped pointer a member of your component class, call createFromImageData in the constructor and add it as a child component. You should be doing the first step anyway, creating a new Drawable every time the component repaints is excessive.

I wouldn’t be super wary of that message in the documentation. If they deprecate that method then it would be impossible to use SVG graphics with the LookAndFeel classes.