Tutorial example issues with opening in older projucer version and VS2019 cannot find include files

i’ve worked with juce and the projucer before and have built a couple plugins from a couple courses i took, which were 5.x. i was able to recreate those projects from scratch when i upgraded to 6.x. I can create projects from scratch in 6.x and build them just fine and everything seems to be in the right place i.e. it finds the correct 6.x modules and whanot. however, i am still a novice when it comes to knowing how all the pieces fit together. hence my problem. currently i am using (or trying to anyway) 6.0.1.

i decided to download the example code for the tutorial building a music player. when i go to the extracted folder and double click the projucer file it opens it in an older 5.x version on my system instead of the current version. even when i tell windows to open it with the 6.0.1 executable, when projucer opens it somehow says its running 5.4.something … very bizarre. maybe this is fixable by some property in the .jucer file?