Undefined symbols for architecture arm64 while compliing

I am pretty new to C++ and have some issues understanding this error message

[build] Undefined symbols for architecture arm64:
[build] “juce::dsp::IIR::Coefficients::Coefficients(float, float, float, float)”, referenced from:
[build] juce::dsp::IIR::Filter::Filter() in libJoba_SharedCode.a(PluginProcessor.cpp.o)
[build] “juce::dsp::IIR::Coefficients::getFilterOrder() const”, referenced from:
[build] juce::dsp::IIR::Filter::reset(float) in libJoba_SharedCode.a(PluginProcessor.cpp.o)
[build] ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture arm64
[build] clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
[build] make[3]: *** [CreateLikeJay_artefacts/Debug/Standalone/Joba.app/Contents/MacOS/Joba] Error 1
[build] make[2]: *** [CMakeFiles/CreateLikeJay_Standalone.dir/all] Error 2
[build] make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/CreateLikeJay_Standalone.dir/rule] Error 2
[build] make: *** [CreateLikeJay_Standalone] Error 2

I narrowed it down through some debugging and figured out its coming from somewhere here

private:
using Filter = juce::dsp::IIR::Filter;
using CutFilter = juce::dsp::ProcessorChain<Filter, Filter, Filter, Filter>;
using MonoChain = juce::dsp::ProcessorChain<CutFilter, Filter, CutFilter>;
MonoChain leftChain, rightChain;

And Probably how i am declaring leftChain and rightChain here

void AudioPluginAudioProcessor::prepareToPlay(double sampleRate, int samplesPerBlock)
{
// Use this method as the place to do any pre-playback
// initialisation that you need…
juce::dsp::ProcessSpec spec;
spec.maximumBlockSize = samplesPerBlock;
spec.numChannels = 1;
spec.sampleRate = sampleRate;
leftChain.prepare(spec);
rightChain.prepare(spec);
juce::ignoreUnused(sampleRate, samplesPerBlock);
}

any ideas?

You probably need to add the juce_dsp module to your project. If you’re using the Projucer, you can do this from the ‘modules’ panel on the left side of the screen.

1 Like