Using "Bona-Fida" reversed engineered Headers to distribute vst2 "like" plugins

Dear fellow devs,

i just started out developing audio plugins and planning on starting a business with that.

Since a few days i am sleeping bad because i found out that distributing VST2 PlugIns will be illegal for me as i didn’t sign a license agreement with Steinberg before October 2018.

This would be a major drawback for any new business trying to sell audio plugins, since one of the most used DAW (and my beloved favourite) didn’t support VST2 until recently in their current major version.

But i have the feeling a lot of artists will use Ableton 9 at least for another year or two, or even beyond.

After spending the last days digging every thread in the usual forums, i have found this:

https://git.iem.at/zmoelnig/VeSTige

Is it legal to distribute stuff compiled with this header?

best regards
Lennart

1 Like

You should really ask your lawyer but my interpretation (I am not a lawyer) is that it doesn’t matter what source code/headers you use to build the plugins. It’s the act of publicly distributing VST2 compatible plugins or hosts that is not allowed if you don’t have the VST2 license signed by Steinberg.

0 Likes

I just received an answer from Steinberg (disussing with them the last few days, too :slight_smile: ).

They say, using that Headers and distributing is fine.

What might be the problem is the VeSTIge headers are released under GPL2, which would mean u have to open-source your whole application (at least on request).

1 Like

That is a really surprising answer from them! If I was you, I would double check that the person I’ve been communicating with has completely understood the situation.

3 Likes