How to offer VST2 plugins now?

Hello, this is my first post here :slight_smile:

I just launched my new plugin a few days ago, and as a new developer I was of course unable to offer VST2 versions.
The problem is many users still need the old VST2 wrapper because they either have an outdated DAW (like Ableton < 10.1, which is certainly not that old), or even an uptodate DAW that does not support VST3 (like MPC software).
I had to refund a few orders because of this, and I could feel their frustration. And of course there are probably also a lot of users that did not buy the plugin in the first place because there was no VST2 version.

I understand why Steinberg did this, but I don’t feel like letting all those users without a solution. Sounds like planned obsolescence for all those users that do not want or cannot update their systems.

So here is my question: wouldn’t there be a way to offer VST2 versions by having an official distributor that owns a VST2 licence distribute just that particular version?
There could for example be a code distributed with the official package that, once entered in an online form on that distributor’s website, would let the user download the dll/vst file that he needs. That version would be cross-branded between the two companies.

Does that sounds like a realistic scenario?

1 Like

Wouldn’t it be easier if you ”bought” the vst2 version from me or anybody else who have a valid license and distribute it yourself? :thinking:

Would that work?
So that would be as simple as offering all versions and add a footnote for the VST2 version with something like “VST2 version provided courtesy of XXX” ?

The Licensee has no permission to sell, licence, give-away and/or distribute the VST 2
Plug-In Interface technology or parts of it in anyway, on any medium, including the
Internet, to any other person, including sub-licensors of the Licensee or companies
where the Licensee has any involvement. This includes re-working this specification,