Where can I buy professional looking UI assets for my plugins?

I’m still learning JUCE but the Graphics tutorial got me thinking: do people really use this for professional plugins? Everything I can do with it looks so basic and ugly. Where can I actually get professional looking art assets like knobs, meters, etc. that I can just animate with the JUCE engine? (even though I really have no idea how to do that yet)

You have quite a few options, but overriding the LookAndFeel functions are what I do most (the last option below). Here are some possibilities:

Using PNGs (you can also use SVGs)

With Blueprint

An example just using what JUCE provides (LookAndFeel class)

2 Likes

This question has both, a technical and a design skills aspect. My Experience is that hiring or working together with a designer who drafts the UI for you can be a great thing in order to create professional looking user interfaces. I experienced two basic workflows:

• All the single GUI elements are exported as images / vector graphics and you can load them as Drawable or Image objects in your plugin. To customize e.g. Sliders and Buttons just create a custom LookAndFeel subclass that uses those images, for more custom types of Components, just draw them directly in the paint routine. This approach works very well for more photorealistic UI designs.
  • The drafts contain very specific information on all aspects of the elements, e.g. colour codes, dimensions, line thickness, corner raduis, fonts used, etc. so that you can basically recreate a draft made up in e.g. Adobe Illustrator with pure JUCE drawing commands, Paths, etc. Small, more complicated icons can be imported as SVGs. This approach works very well for flat UI designs.