A newbie that can't even start! Please help!

Hello, I’m a Juce beginner and I want to make some audio plug-ins using you professional looking software.

So I run Projucer, and click on new audio plug-in.
Point it to Juce’s Modules, select VS 2015 and set the project name.
I click Create, and I get a list of 4 files, that seem appropriately named.
BUT when I click Enable Complilation I immediately get ‘memory.h’ and ‘windows.h’ not found errors.
So I can only conclude that it’s not finding any of the Windows includes.
What’s happening please?
*Edit I’m using Windows 10 and projucer 5.1.1 and none of the previous forum posts help, because everything has changed.

You probably want to open your project in Visual Studio instead of using the live-build engine, which is what the ‘Enable Compilation’ option is doing. To do this, select the Visual Studio version that you have installed from the drop-down menu at the top of the Projucer and then click the VS icon next to it - this will save your project and open it in Visual Studio:

A good way to start learning JUCE is by reading the tutorials, here.

Thanks for a prompt answer, so I can’t use ‘live’ build at all!?
That’s a disappointing start. :frowning:

I only have one option in the Exporters list, so how do I make an MacOSX version of my plug-in?
Do I have to start again?

Not at all. Make sure no exporter is selected (nothing yellow) and click the plus button in the lower right corner. Select under “Create a new export target” the platform, you want to support.
Note, to actually compile for OSX, you need to run XCode on OSX. Cross compilation is not supported out the box (if at all).

HTH

You can add new project exporters later without starting over by pressing the + button under the exporters list. (You will need a Macintosh computer and XCode installed on it in addition to Juce to build the project, though. Hopefully that didn’t come as a disappointing surprise too…)