Basic Compiling Problems

I am new to JUCE, but not to Linux. I am running Ubuntu 14.04, JUCE 3.1, and am having problems with making a simple VST (the redwood audio tutorial).

So I found a copy of vstsdk2.4 online, and put that in the folder '~/SDKs'.  In JUCE my path for the VST folder is '~/SDKs/vstsdk2.4'. I get the following error in the terminal:

Compiling juce_VST_Wrapper.cpp
../../../juce/modules/juce_audio_plugin_client/VST/juce_VST_Wrapper.cpp:277:29: warning: multi-character character constant [-Wmultichar]
         setUniqueID ((int) (JucePlugin_VSTUniqueID));
                             ^
In file included from ../../../juce/modules/juce_audio_plugin_client/VST/juce_VST_Wrapper.cpp:83:0:
/home/eric/SDKs/vstsdk2.4/public.sdk/source/vst2.x/audioeffectx.cpp: In member function ‘virtual void AudioEffectX::resume()’:
/home/eric/SDKs/vstsdk2.4/public.sdk/source/vst2.x/audioeffectx.cpp:307:69: warning: deprecated conversion from string constant to ‘char*’ [-Wwrite-strings]
  if (cEffect.flags & effFlagsIsSynth || canDo ("receiveVstMidiEvent") == 1)
                                                                     ^
In file included from ../../../juce/modules/juce_audio_plugin_client/VST/juce_VST_Wrapper.cpp:84:0:
/home/eric/SDKs/vstsdk2.4/public.sdk/source/vst2.x/audioeffect.cpp: In member function ‘virtual void AudioEffect::int2string(VstInt32, char*, VstInt32)’:
/home/eric/SDKs/vstsdk2.4/public.sdk/source/vst2.x/audioeffect.cpp:512:24: warning: narrowing conversion of ‘(((int)((char)digit)) + 48)’ from ‘int’ to ‘char’ inside { } [-Wnarrowing]
    char temp[2] = {'0' + (char)digit, '\0'};
                        ^
Compiling juce_VST3_Wrapper.cpp
Linking StereoWidthCtrl