Beginner question about Juce workflow

Hi, newbie here. I’m developing a stand-alone app intended for iOS and Android, perhaps desktop.

Just wanted to confirm that I understand the workflow correctly.

1. Do I need to do all development in Projucer? Can’t I just pick which modules that I need, export it to, say, X-Code, and finish development there?

2. What if I need to add a module after doing so? Is it possible to go back and add one after working with the project in X-Code (without going through some type of merge-hacking)?

The intended workflow with Projucer traditionally was just that : set up the project in Projucer and export to Visual Studio/Xcode etc. That has recently changed a bit since there’s also the Projucer live build feature available. However, for any large scale development you will want to export to a real IDE anyway.

You can add modules and change other settings in the Projucer project later and export again to your IDE, but it does appear some changes manually made in the IDE settings may get removed when doing that.

1 Like

Thanks Xenakios. I’m sure it’s possible to add modules to an existing project but don’t know how cumbersome it will be. Sometimes such an endeavor is more trouble than it’s worth.

Just as an idea, what about adding all modules, then commenting them out in the appropriate includes? Sure, the source code repo will be bloated. Just spitballing to avoid troubles down the road, in case other modules are needed on an existing project.

Yes, I’d greatly prefer to work in X-Code or another IDE, if possible, for a non-trivial project.

Adding modules later is not that cumbersome if you don’t need to be changing the IDE settings manually all the time. And if you have some IDE settings that you can’t currently set in the Projucer project, you can suggest the JUCE team to add it into Projucer, they might even do that.