Bug: periodic GUI update freeze with mouse events on macOS

Hey everyone!

I came here to post about a long-standing issue that I have been observing for several years now, both with JUCE 6 and 7, and with plugins made by multiple different developers/brands.

Summary: when continuously adjusting a control (such as a knob or a slider), the GUI will freeze for 0.5-1 second once in a while. Usually it happens every 10-20 seconds. This doesn’t seem to happen when the GUI is being updated during parameter automation, only when parameters are adjusted via continuous mouse events. Below are two videos that depict the issue with Sinevibes Dipole v2 plugin and Rhizomatic Plasmonic plugin: the cursor is constantly being moved left-right or up-down, but after a while the GUI just locks up, then again continues to redraw/update itself (and eventually will lock up again, all in a cycle).

This happens on macOS only, it seems - haven’t yet seen it on Windows. Also, in my particular case it’s on Apple Silicon, but I can try our Intel test machines too and report back.

I have seen this happen on both JUCE 6 and 7, with or without JUCE_COREGRAPHICS_RENDER_WITH_MULTIPLE_PAINT_CALLS enabled. Currently seeing it on the very latest JUCE 7.0.8. Also experienced it with software from Rhizomatic, refX, KORG, AudioRealism, and others. So it doesn’t seem like it’s something that we coded in a certain way.

Any clues on what this might be? Mouse event queue overload? Any chance this will be fixed?

Thanks very much in advance.

Artemiy from Sinevibes

Hey Artemiy,

are you using openGL?

Luca

Hey Luca!

Nice to see you here! No, we are not using OpenGL. It’s all just regular text and vector graphics drawn via ”vanilla” JUCE calls.

Artemiy