Can't input non-English characters in TextEditor

Hello.

I'm new to JUCE and want to know:

1. How to input and display non-English characters in a textEdit? Or How to set and use the OS' default font with JUCE components?

2.  On MAC OSX, the characters/text within the UI of all JUCE application looks fine, but on Windows and Ubuntu-Linux, they look fuzzy, seem a little bit ugly and strange. How to make them clear, just like the OS' default UI characters?

Thanks in advance.

add:

On Ubuntu-Linux, can't input any non-English in a textEdit, it just display English characters however I switch IMEs.

Anybody can help?

On windows the fonts in JUCE look a bit more fuzzy because Windows usually uses more agressive hinting for fonts.

And inputting 你好 with the IME in a text field will work, but the font we're using doesn't contain those characters so they come up as boxes, or they are not visible at all, depending on if you use the DirectWrite text renderer or not (tested on Windows 7).

Finding out the default UI font on Windows is a bit complicated:

1) you have to use the right API function. Windows has a few legacy API functions, which return some default font used in various obsolete versions of Windows. The call you need is

// Please note I left out any error checking!
NONCLIENTMETRICS ourMetrics = {sizeof(ourMetrics)};
SystemParametersInfo(SPI_GETNONCLIENTMETRICS, sizeof(ourMetrics), &ourMetrics, 0);

and then you can get the font name from the lfMessageFont member and use it as the default font name for a juce::Font. The height value is set to a negative number, indicating it is the character height of the font—see point (2) for that. The height is returned in pixels.

A common default for western languages is Segoe UI, 12px, at 96DPI, corresponding to the 9pt you see in the Window Color and Appearance control panel. The x-height of this font for this size is 6px.