CMake Plugin Demo, won't load on M1 - arm64 Reaper or pluginval? (SOLVED)

I just build the CMake plugin demo on a new m1 Mac. The VST3 will not load, and neither will the other plugin formats. When I scan the vst3 I get an assertion here:

IPluginFactory* JUCE_CALLTYPE getPluginFactory()
    {
        if (factory == nullptr)
            if (auto* proc = (GetFactoryProc) getFunction (factoryFnName))
                factory = proc();

// The plugin NEEDS to provide a factory to be able to be called a VST3!
        // Most likely you are trying to load a 32-bit VST3 from a 64-bit host
        // or vice versa.
        jassert (factory != nullptr);
        return factory;
    }

If I try the project generated with the Projucer it works fine. Any ideas? I’m pretty new to CMake…

For what it’s worth, I’m running CMake with:

add_subdirectory(JUCE)

[edit], hmmm looks like user error. I just did a fresh clone of JUCE, went through all the steps, nuked by cmake dir, etc, now it’s working. I was still scanning the good version from the Projucer generated project…

Perhaps the arch of the plugin does not match the arch of the host. You can check the plugin arch with the file command (e.g. file /path/to/plugin.component/Contents/MacOS/thelibrary), and control the arches that CMake builds by setting "-DCMAKE_OSX_ARCHITECTURES=arm64;x86_64" during configuration.

Thanks @reuk That was the issue :see_no_evil: I was setting this in Xcode project settings, but I think it was being overwritten by CMake. I have to remember that I should set all project settings in the Cmake file and not in Xcode :wink:

Sorry, me again! I note that if I set both the host AND the plugin to build as arm64 only, I get the same problem again?

pluginval: Mach-O 64-bit executable arm64
Audio Plugin Example: Mach-O 64-bit bundle arm64

So Reaper, which has an arm64 only build, will not load the plugin even if it has a matching arch?