Envelopes for JUCE Synthesiser class?

Hi, I’m fairly new to JUCE and I recently just figured out how to use the JUCE Synthesiser class to create synth voices and sounds. I thought a reasonable next step would to be creating an ADSR envelope. I’ve found many examples online of different ADSR classes however they all seem to be structured in a way thats not so easy to interface with the JUCE Synthesiser class (at least at my level). I was wondering if anyone might be able to share more straightforward examples of synth projects which utilize ADSR envelopes and are based on the JUCE synthesiser class?

1 Like

Try using a modified version of the envelopes at earlevelengineering.com and remember not to render out your envelope every sample. As far as interfacing with juce simply make the envelope a child class of your voice and use a multiply as your interface.

Thanks for the reply Lopiano. I’ve been reading the articles on earlevelengineering. Very helpful. I ended up getting the ADSR from the Synthesis Toolkit working. In my RenderNextBlock function, I’m multiplying the ADSR value by each output sample:

double output = getSample() * ADSR.tick();

So you recommend not rendering the envelope for every sample? That makes sense to make it more computationally efficient.

yeah I’d recommend having renderEnvelope be one function that just renders and then have a function called getSmoothedLevel that returns the linear interpolation of the envelopes out level. So you end up linear interpolating ever sample but you only render the envelope every 32 or 64 samples.

1 Like

i found it very efficient, as there is just one addition and one multiplication (actially two) over the procedure. i dont think one would need to make additional interpolation as perhaps we would end up with similar formula including feedback assignment for the interpolation itself. just look again how sweet the coefs are computed to our advantage, or im tripping ?