Juce on Eclipse--ultra newbie question

Hi All:

I’m a java developer, but spanking new to C++.

I’m just trying to get the basic 4-file program from the sticky working in the Eclipse IDE for C++. I figured out how to get the path to the Juce files listed in the ‘INCLUDES’ part of the tree, but Eclipse still doesn’t seem to be able to resolve them. I basically just unzipped the juce tree into a folder, and pointed to that. Is there something different I should do?

Any sense what I may be doing wrong?

Thanks!
-eric

Okay, figured one thing out. I had it in the wrong include area. Now I am seeing juce.h, but I get an error at:

START_JUCE_APPLICATION(AppClass)

It says it’s a syntax error. It’s not a syntax I know, but that’s not saying much!

Before that, I’m getting all kinds of errors at the AppClass destructor, and almost everything in the window files is not found.

I’m guessing there’s some process for recognizing the whole file tree, and correctly getting it all set up. I’ll reread the instructions for VC, and see if I get any ideas…

Okay, after reading more posts on this forum, it sounds like I should be working from MS tools… I’m all for open source, and Eclipse works great for my java stuff, but it looks to be beyond my scope to get anything working in Eclipse, at least until I understand C++ better.

So I’ll try that…

Yes, trying to port a framework to an unsupported compiler when you’ve not yet figured out c++ does sound a bit ambitious!

I had Juce working on Linux in Eclipse, but it wasn’t great. I changed to Code::Blocks and it was better, but if you’re on Windows, best to use a system with a ready to-go project file.

I was using VC++ Express last. It’s free and seemed to work well.

But C++ is always a fight with includes, paths, defines etc. when you move to a new IDE.

Bruce

as Kenneth C. Dyke said somewhere…

:smiley:

Thanks all for the kind responses. But as ever, a little RTFM was in order…