MIDI into audio plugin

Is there anyway to create a plug-in that affects an audio track, but can also take in MIDI as input? MIDI would be used for neat things that aren’t relevant to the question. Just need the input into the plugin.

Plan would be to use the plugin in Logic Pro.

Thank you for any help!

1 Like

in the projucer you can tell your plugin that it is able to receive midi input. then it’s given to you as the 2nd argument of processBlock

I’m a bit new to JUCE, but my understanding is that JUCE itself is capable of being set up this way, but where you may run into problems is how the host handles I/O. For example, I know that in Ableton this will work just fine, you just set up your VST as an audio effect on an audio track, then set up a MIDI track and route its MIDI output to your plugin on the audio track. But I believe that Logic makes this more difficult, if not impossible…

In Logic, you have to add the plugin to an Instrument track as an Input, and then set your Audio track as its sidechain input.

1 Like

@HowardAntares I’m making a plugin that needs to accept both audio & MIDI… If I want to make sure that Logic users will be able to use it the way you describe, do I need to do anything special to my JUCE code to allow it to accept sidechain? Currently I’m not using or dealing with sidechaining at all, because for the “normal” use of the plugin in a DAW like Ableton it’s not needed…

I think this addition of the second withInput here was needed, in the initialization of my Processor class:

: AudioProcessor( BusesProperties()	.withInput("Input", AudioChannelSet::stereo()).withOutput("Output", AudioChannelSet::stereo()).withInput ("Sidechain", AudioChannelSet::stereo(), true)
1 Like